Make and like a post for your chance to win an iPhone 6S 16GB for the Holidays! #TheGreatCanadianiPhoneHolidayGiveaway

Choosing the Right Courses and Programs

I am currently attending the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, also known as NAIT. It is a college that mainly focuses on the trades, dentistry and technology (yes you guessed it; it's a shock, I know). I am a member of the technology side of NAIT, as I am in the Digital Media and IT Program. What does that mean? Well, I am studying to become a web designer and I have to say that choosing NAIT, rather than the University of Alberta to get a Bachelor's of Science and Education like I was planning when I was in my last year of high school, was the best decision I have ever made.

Why, you might ask. Well, I had held the firm belief that I would attend the U of A and study sciences and education to become a biology teacher; however, I went through a life changing experience where I realized what I really wanted to do for post-secondary and for a career in general.

I had heard many teachers in high school talk about how teaching wasn't necessarily something they started their post-secondary journeys with and that it was a decision they made half way through their other programs at their respective universities or colleges. I thought that cases like these were very few and far between... until it happened to me.